Let Me Shop

I was out shopping (browsing, really) at some shops this weekend. In one of the stores, I was particularly interested in a couple of shirts. As I am checking out one of the shirts, deciding whether to buy, one of the salespeople walks up to me and points me to a table of sale items a few feet away.

Admittedly, I became curious and checked it out. Unfortunately, for them, I lost interest in the shirts I was considering and had no interest in the sales items.

I walked out without making a purchase. Alas, another sale thwarted by someone being a little too helpful.

Here are a few hints:

  • Don’t ask yes or no questions. 99% of the time, the answer will be no.
  • Don’t divert someone from a higher ticket sale to a lower one, unless it’s what they need or it’s right for them.
  • Engage the customer to find out what they are looking to purchase. What is holding up their decision? What can you do to help them along?

If you go shopping and don’t have an engaging experience and don’t buy something or as much as a result, then don’t replicate that in your own job. That’s just not smart.

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It! ::

Leave a Reply

