Being Lazy

I’ve been pretty active lately on Facebook and LinkedIn, hooking up with old friends and making some new ones. While I may not be rocking the world with the number of connections I’ve made, I’m doing pretty well. But here’s the thing, I’ve been counting on the connections I am making for the next set of connections I am going to make. I’m letting them do the work in finding more of my friends. To ease my guilty conscious, I hope they are using me the same way.

This idea got me thinking about how we connect with customers. We all expect to interact at the tangents in social networks. That’s pretty much how they’re set up. If we take the same approach and attitude with our customers, though, we lose our ability to truly understand their wants and needs.

Social networking can and should be an integral part of your marketing strategy. Your approach to social networking, however, should not dictate all of your interactions with your customers.

A few things to keep in mind:

  • Update your social network business pages at least once every two weeks, if not more often
  • Keep your social networking highly relevant to the brand proposition
  • Use it to drive interactions through other channels
  • Encourage others in your social network to give you real feedback on how you can improve what you do and how you do it

Social networking is a wonderful advancement and can be an excellent marketing tool. And keeping it a relevant access point to your brand will make it successful strategy.

add to del.icio.us :: Digg it :: Stumble It! ::

Leave a Reply

